School Site Council (SSC)

The School Site Council (SSC) is the central decision making body of the school. Co-chaired by the Principal and a parent co-chair (or co-chairs), the Curley’s SSC formally consists of 7 elected parents who reflect the diversity of our parent community, together with 6 BTU representatives. Alternates are also selected so they may stand in for missing members. All meetings are open to the public.

Role of the School Site Council

The role of a School Site Council is to serve as the central governing body of the school under the shared decision-making model. Specifically, the role of the Council includes the following:

  • To review and comment on the entire school budget, including the General Fund and External Funds budgets, in a timely fashion. Upon written request, school site council members shall be provided with written or electronic copies of school budgets;
  • To review and approve the Quality School Plan within guidelines established by the Superintendent;
  • To approve the budget for discretionary school materials, supplies, textbooks and equipment, including the use of school improvement award funds;
  • To develop and approve plans for increasing parent involvement in the school;
  • To approve waivers;
  • To review and approve recommendations of the Instructional Leadership Team (ILT) and other school subcommittees that will have major effect on the school community.
  • To review and approve recommendations from any other committee or group that is established to recommend changes that will have a major effect on the school community;
  • To participate in hiring through the Personnel Subcommittee made up of the Principal, 2 BTU members, and 2 parents.
  • To receive information about all outside programs or professionals who come into the school.

Please see the Boston Public Schools School Site Council Manual for full details.

Generally, the Curley K-8 SSC meets the second Tuesday of each month from 5:30 pm – 7 pm in the Library. Please consult the calendar or the list below for any exceptions to this general rule.

For more information, please contact parent co-chair Heshan Berents-Weeramuni.

2015-2016 SSC Meetings

All meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month in the Upper School Library and are open to the public unless otherwise listed.

  • Tuesday, September 29, 2015, 5:30pm – 7pm
  • Tuesday, October 13, 2015, 5:30pm – 7pm
  • Tuesday, November 10, 2015, 5:30pm – 7pm
  • Tuesday, December 15, 2015, 5:30pm – 7pm
  • Tuesday, January 5, 2016, 5:30pm – 7pm – Budget Presentation
  • Tuesday, February 9, 2016, 5:30pm – 7pm
  • Tuesday, March 12, 2016, 5:30pm – 7pm
  • Tuesday, April 12, 2016, 5:30pm – 7pm
  • Tuesday, May 10, 2016, 5:30pm – 7pm
  • Tuesday, June 14, 2016, 5:30pm – 7pm

Agendas for Past Meetings

Minutes for Past Meetings

SSC members for 2014-2015:

Will be updated following Fall 2015 SPC and Faculty Senate elections.

  • Nicole Aljoe (Secretary/Parent) – nnaljoe@gmail.com
  • Heshan Berents-Weeramuni (Parent Co-Chair) – heshanbw@gmail.com
  • Darryl Elow (Parent) – elowd@comcast.net
  • Carrie Fletcher (Parent) – carrie.fletcher@gmail.com
  • Aleah Gerena (Parent) – acgerena@yahoo.com
  • Katherine Grassa (Principal and Co-Chair) – kgrassa@bostonpublicschools.org
  • Erika Mercado (BTU Member) – emercado@bostonpublicschools.org
  • Kristen Paulson-Nguyen (Parent Co-Chair) – kristen@jotcomm.com
  • Olivia Peters (BTU Member) – opeters@bostonpublicschools.org
  • Mark Righini (BTU Member) – mrighini@bostonpublicschools.org
  • Connie Redden (BTU Member) – credden@bostonpublicschools.org
  • Susan Trotz (BTU Member) – strotz@bostonpublicschools.org
  • Jodie Silverman (Parent) – silverman.jodie@gmail.com
  • Lindsey Wright (BTU Member) – lwright5@bostonpublicschools.org

Curley SSC Governing Documents